CFE Intervals – a day late

Sorry I’m late with my posting. I did this workout yesterday but never got around to posting it until now. The Crossfit Endurance prescribed workout was:

 Bike: 4 x 2 – 3 mile hill repeats holding fastest possible pace and not deviating more than 1 min per repeat. Recoveries are how long it takes you to come down the hill. If you do not have a hill then use tension on a trainer or ergometer with steady tension.

I dont know of any 2-3 mile hills anywhere near New York City. On a recent team ride we rode the Rockland Lake Hill on 9W. This is .83 miles long. So I took the numbers from that climb and estimated what the effort would be to do it for 2 miles. Then I estimated the descent. It would be around 4-5 mins. After deliberating, I settled on a goal of 4 x 10mins at 315+ watts with 5 min rest between each interval. This would be done on the trainer with an emphasis on low cadence to simulate climbing.

This would be a tough workout on a good day. Today was not a good day. I’ve been enjoying my New Years quite a bit. Despite the fact that New Years Eve was 2 days ago, I still hadn’t recovered completely. I felt better on this day but that was definitely relative to the hangover that I suffered the day before. Plus the late night partying was a huge shift from my typical sleeping pattern of sleeping by 11pm and up by 7am. On New Years I went to sleep at around 6am (Jan 1st) and woke up at 2pm. In addition my legs were still a little off from doing Fight Gone Bad on New Years Eve. Those wall balls were still haunting me. At 6’4 tall its quite a long range of motion.

So I completed the 1st 10 minute interval at 321 watts, 162 bpm, 76 rpm. After the 5 min rest I knew that I would not do well with 3 more of those intervals. At that point I decided to try and do some 5 min intervals at the same effort just to make sure that I spend some time in that zone instead of outright quitting. So my following interval at 5 mins was 316 watts, 160 bpm, 75 rpm. Then 304 watts, 154 bpm, 76 rpm. And last was 304 watts, 160 bpm, 75 rpm.

As you can see, I really started to fall apart. After the last one that I did, I knew it was time to wrap it up. After the 2nd to last one, I didn’t want to quit. I promised that I would give it one more solid attempt. Funny, that the last 2 were almost the exact same, except my heart rate was up a little higher. I’m confident that I made a smart decision by ending the workout when I did.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

