Front Squats

5 sets of 5 reps of Front Squats. This was my 1st time doing front squats with heavy weight. We learned the movement during the Elements workshop back in November. Now I must face them in a workout. The position of the bar in this exercise is a bit awkward. It is definitely something that I need to practice.

The last week of CF workouts have been very much targeting building strength. I’m happy about this as they will be very helpful for cycling. Many cyclists train using lower weights and high reps to develop strength. Unfortunately working out this way develops more muscular endurance than raw strength. To build strength you gotta go HEAVY. My weights are listed below. I think that once I get the form and mechanics better, I’ll be able to go heavier. Need some good inspiration and instruction check out this video. Go Grandma Go!!!

http://media.crossfit.com/cf-video/CrossFit_FrontSquats.wmv

1st set – 138.5 lbs

2nd and 3rd sets – 148.5 lbs

4th and 5th sets – 158.5 lbs

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

