Intelligent workout?

What is an intelligent workout you ask. Well today I’m considering an intelligent workout, a workout that gets revised based on smart thinking. Today I wanted to catch up on yesterday’s CFE workout. Today was a busy day at work. It took me an hour and a half to get home from work. It usually takes me 30-40 mins. When I got home I was stressed, irritable and tired. I still wanted to do my workout. Nothing was going to stop me. I was focused. I went to the supermarket to get some food to prepare my post workout dinner. Then I was on my way home ready to throw down on the trainer. I got changed, got on the trainer and proceeded to warm up for the efforts. My legs were dead at 1st from yesterday’s CF workout. Those deadlifts put the hurt on me. I ramped up to 220 watts. I sat there for about 10 mins and my heartrate was only 122 bpm. It is usually around 140 bpm at this wattage. Shit, not a good sign. So I tried 325 watts for 3 mins. My heartrate only got up to 155 bpm. 325 is within my threshold range, usually at around 175 bpm. For the first minute at that effort my heartrate just sat at 139 bpm. Sh*t, f*ck, @#$%&*%%$#@% !!!!!!! I stopped for a minute. Maybe its a fluke…then restarted. Sat at my endurance wattage and saw that my heartrate wasnt moving. Just like that I saw that all of my excitement for doing the CFE workout would have to be bottled up and saved for another day. Today I would have to do an ‘Intelligent Workout’. My body was telling me that it needed to recover. So I spun the legs at around 100 watts for 30 mins. I’ll have to call it the ‘Intelligent Workout’. I had to quell the urges that trap many athletes and send them down the slippery slope of overtraining. If you’re training hard, please be ‘intelligent’ and listen to your body.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

