1 minute Interval Ladder

Jan 25th

Good night of sleep…felt good in the morning…good day for a tough workout. My upper body was still a little sore so I opted for a Crossfit Endurance day. Crossfit would have to wait until tomorrow when my muscles have recovered. Today is a CFE rest day. So instead I did yesterday’s workout, the 1 minute Interval Ladder.

The workout is 1min on, 1 min off, 1 min on, 50 sec off, 1 min on, 40 sec off, 1 min on, 30 sec off, 1 min on 20 sec off, 1 min on, 10 sec off, then go back up the ladder until you finish with 1 min on, 50 sec off, 1 min on. These are max efforts.

Looking at my previous files, I see that my max one minute number from the past 2 months of training was 467 watts. This was done on January 6th during an interval workout of 30 sec on/2:30 off. This number wouldnt be so reliable because it was not a complete 1 minute effort. In my head I thought that I would shoot for an average of at least 400 watts for each effort. My numbers were as follows: 473, 452, 469, 458, 408, 359, 311, 373, 384, 399, 445. The average is 412 watts. So I beat my benchmark of 400 watts. You can see that as I continued and the recovery periods decreased my power output decreased with them. 311 watts was right after the 10 second recovery period. My power would have been higher if I stuck with my initial gearing. The 1st four efforts were done at 97-99 rpm. The rest were done at 100+ rpm. You can see on the 5th interval that I shifted into a smaller gear my cadence went up but my power dropped. The problem is that I was not sure that I would be able to complete the workout with the bigger gear. My legs felt like they would definitely be cramping up if I kept muscling a big gear.

It is interesting to see the effect of the recovery on my heartrate. My heartrate is at just about 175 bpm at the peak of each work interval. My heartrate is approximately 10 bpm higher at the end of each rest interval as the length of the rest intervals decreases. My heartrate is 135 bpm at the start of the 2nd interval, 145 bpm at the 3rd interval, 155 bpm at the 4th, and 165 bpm at the 5th. After hovering at around 171 bpm for intervals 6 and 7, it begins dropping again by approx 10 bpm for the last few intervals.

Looking at the charts I did a decent job of pacing. Most of my intervals are negative splits. Fortunately I had my girlfriend help me out with the timing of the efforts. When I’m cross-eyed I sometimes lose track of my intervals. So that was a great help. Her peer pressure helped me to stay focused.

See my graph below.

012509

1 Comment

  1. […] last time I did this workout was 01.25.09 Unfortunately today’s effort will not be a good gauge for any improvement. As you may have […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

