Redemption

Feb 5th

After yesterday’s debacle, I came back to conquer today’s workout. Today’s Crossfit workout was

Five rounds for time of:
2 pood Kettlebell swings, 25 reps
25 GHD Sit-ups
25 Back Extensions
25 Knees to Elbows

There were 4 of us in class today. We were all somewhat scared of this workout. One feared the GHD situps. One feared the kettlebell swings. I was personally more concerned with the swings and knees to elbows. They both require a lot of hand work keeping a good grip. I was also floored by the fact that this workout was 5 rounds. Our instructor Moon explained that this was not so bad. Using last year as an example, he stated that as we got closer to the date of the Crossfit Games the workouts got harder. 3 round workouts turned into 5 rounds. 5 round workouts turned into 7 rounds.

So off we went. Bring the pain. I finished the first round at approx 5 minutes even. I told myself that I would try to meet a tough goal of maintaining an average of 5 minutes per round. I finished the workout in 25:59, just under my goal. I was very happy with myself with this strong finishing time. As my fears confirmed, my hands took a beating. By the 4th round holding onto the kettlebell was a chore. My hands are large so it is a bit more comfortable for me to hold the handle with just my thumb, index, and middle fingers. This is more comfortable for my hands but requires more effort since I’m holding on with less fingers. I tell you what, with all this work on those digits I should be an amazing cab hailer, finger pointer and bird flipper. When I give someone the finger, they should really feel it. The knees to elbows were also difficult. After the kb swings, situps and back extensions, my lungs and back were on fire. I swore that I was going to rip my hands during this workout. Holding onto the bar for the knees to elbows was quite a chore. This is primarily a core exercise but I feel that my shoulders, forearms, and hands were getting the biggest workout.

All in all, I’m happy with my workout and result. I’ve been redeemed. Back to the bike tomorrow. Mr. Stomach, please be a better workout partner.

Here’s an excellent article that I reread from time to time. I figured that I’d share it with all of you, enjoy

http://www.hussmanfitness.org/html/TLEnergySystems.html

1 Comment

  1. […] Redemption […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

