Dear Diary, Sorry I havent written in a while…

Feb 25th

Today I opted for a CFE workout. I did the 1:1 pacing workout. This required 1 min on, 1 min off for 9 rounds. After looking at my past workout files I settled on a goal of 430-450 average per effort. The intent of this workout is to keep the efforts at near the same power for each round while simultaneously going very hard. My efforts were as follows: 438, 443, 435, 438, 422, 411, 388, 388, 386. I did very well for the first half of the workout. Then I hit a wall. My legs were so loaded I was using all my might to turn over the pedals. The workout didnt hit me too badly cardio wise. It was my legs that took the efforts with difficulty. When I was finished they were so pumped that walking was a chore. So I ended up averaging 417 watts for the workout. After analyzing my power file I realized that I hadnt offset my power meter from my last ride. My last ride was outdoors and it was cold. 20 degrees colder than indoors at my place. So that means that my power was quite a bit higher than what was registered for this workout. Chances are very high that I hit my target but unfortunately I have no proof. I’ll have to wait until the next time that I encounter this workout.

Feb 26th

Oh baby, look was Crossfit has in store for us today…

Walking lunge 100 ft.
21 Pull-ups
21 Sit-ups
Walking lunge 100 ft.
18 Pull-ups
18 Sit-ups
Walking lunge 100 ft.
15 Pull-ups
15 Sit-ups
Walking lunge 100 ft.
12 Pull-ups
12 Sit-ups
Walking lunge 100 ft.
9 Pull-ups
9 Sit-ups
Walking Lunge 100 ft.
6 Pull-ups
6 Sit-ups

Awesome. The box was really hoppin today. There were a bunch of visitors. Some guys from Crossfit Eastbay, some from another facility that I cant remember, a guy named Jay from LI that CF’s on his own, and Crossfit internet superblogger Melissa Byers. It was busy. All of these great visitors plus the Brooklyn CFers made for a competitive class. Justin and Greg had us amped up for this one. I finished the workout in the middle of the field in 11:40. What a great workout. (I feel like I say that alot) Anyway it was great. Again pullups were my limiter. I did well with the lunges because of my long stride. Situps are typically a strength for me. Pullups (fart noise), not so good.

Feb 27th

Yeah tomorrows a CF rest day. But for me that will mean a day on the bike. I’m happy with how my body is adapting. I’ve been able to get in consistent workouts with much less fatigue. It took a few months to get to this point but the hard work has definitely paid off. Theres a lot more work to come. Todays workout:

For time:
21 Hip-Back Extensions
Run 400 meters
18 Hip-Back Extensions
Run 400 meters
15 Hip-Back Extensions
Run 400 meters
12 Hip-Back Extensions
Run 400 meters
9 Hip-Back Extensions
Run 400 meters
6 Hip-Back Extensions
Run 400 meters
3 Hip-Back Extensions
Run 400 meters 

Yeah, Coach really likes to hit us when we’re down. My back is cooked from yesterdays pullups. My glutes are trashed from yesterday’s lunges. Soooo…guess what…lets do some back extensions and running. LOL. Small class today. Just three of us. Friday night workouts are often like this. Shit its NYC. People have drinking to do. This one was pure cardio blast today. I finished in 16:42. The interesting thing is how bad your running form is after doing the back extensions. You running lean backwards a bit because your back is locked up from the back extensions. I love the concept of doing spurts of body movements with runs in between. The programming is great in that you hit many different systems and muscles in a time efficient workout.

Afterwards Torch gave us some muscle up instruction. I’ll be honest me doing a muscle up seems pretty far from my reach. I suck at ring pullups and ring dips. I promise that I will keep trying though. Our cashout today was to hold a 2 pood (70lb) kettlebell in each hand for as long as you could. Word was that Kurt (apparently now well known for his masterbatory prowess) had set a house record at 4:07. I didnt have much confidence going in to this one. The record was just over 4 mins and that the guy that attempted before me finished just under 2 mins. I didnt think that I would have much to offer. Well I held the kettlebells for 6:25. Hmmm, I beat a record set by someone how owes their talent to being very intimately friendly with himself. Sooooo, how can I explain myself on this one?

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

