Training Camp – Day Three

Mar 20th

This morning the group went out for some skills training. We did some work on cornering and sprinting. Brian initiated the clinic on cornering. We started with a brief discussion and followed with a small parking lot crit with some drills included. I instructed the group on sprinting. We did some off the bike movements and some verbal instruction and sample exercises to improve your sprinting. Afterwards we did some form sprinting and other drills and exercises. This took about an hour and a half. It was fun, educational and very helpful. I think that we all were able to gain some valuable knowledge from each other. Some say that teaching is the best way to learn. We are all good at some things and suck at others.

After our skills clinics we went back to the house to relax and eat in preparation for the afternoon ride to Red Rock Canyon. At 300pm we rode to Coach Greg’s house then to Red Rock Canyon. Man, it was hot. It was in the mid to high 80’s at this time in the afternoon. The ride at Red Rock Canyon was beautiful. Like the Valley of Fire lots of the rock formations were red hence the name…Red Rock Canyon. The road was a one way road. This was great because you could use the whole width of the road for climbing and descending.

Unfortunately despite the beautiful sights and great weather, Red Rock Canyon was a death march for me. I think that I was dehydrated. I was dropped very early in the ride. We made a rest stop as we entered the Canyon road. I chugged a whole bottle of water without taking a breath. I can’t pinpoint exactly where I wasnt doing a good job of hydrating. Each morning I woke up very dry with my sinuses burning. Its crazy to think that I’ve used Chapstick more often here than I have at home and its like 30 degrees there. Also the pollen count is very high here and my allergies have been terrible. Perhaps I didnt drink enough during and after our skills ride this morning. What ever the reasons are, its too late to correct them now. At this point my only aim was to stay focused on keeping my slow pace and eat and drink.

When I got back to the house I went to the bathroom and realized that it had been nearly 5 hours since I pissed last…not good. I struggled on the way back home from the ride. I was even getting dropped on the downhill sections. Aside from the various points where the team waited up for me my only hope for keeping with the group was the fact that my teammate David had like 3 flats on the way home. Later at dinner I was silent at the table. I was so beat that I didnt speak much at all.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

