Fight Gone Horribly Bad

knockout
Mar 29th

Three rounds of:
Wall-ball, 20 pound ball, 10 ft target (Reps)
Sumo deadlift high-pull, 75 pounds (Reps)
Box Jump, 20″ box (Reps)
Push-press, 75 pounds (Reps)
Row (Calories)

In this workout you move from each of five stations after a minute.The clock does not reset or stop between exercises. This is a five-minute round from which a one-minute break is allowed before repeating. On call of “rotate”, the athletes must move to next station immediately for best score. One point is given for each rep, except on the rower where each calorie is one point.

Well today was my first day going to Crossfit in 23 days. Damn that’s a long time. I was excited to go back. I had some butterflies when I was on the train. Not too much has changed in my 23 day absence. The cubbies were moved to another spot in the space. That was easy to get familiar with. I also noticed that my record on the whiteboard had been erased. My 6 minutes and 25 second, 2pood hold record is gone. The only record of it now exists here on my blog.

Today’s workout was Fight Gone Bad. I was excited for it. Last time I did this workout I finished with a PR of 286 on NYE. This time I was gunning for 300. My legs were a little fatigued but I expected to be pretty fresh in my upper body. So off we went. I went in the 2nd heat after supporting my workout partner for the day, Kevin. My 1st exercise was the Row. I killed it. It was a PR for me. 29 calories in one minute. 2nd was the wall ball. I felt strong, 18 reps. 3rd, Sumo Deadlift High Pull, yeah baby 20 reps. 4th, Box Jumps, 22 reps, good. 5th, Push Press, 20 reps, bang. I smashed my 1st round with 109 reps!

I felt great, marched over to the rowing machine to get ready to start the next round. I’m gonna kill this today. Hit the row, 20 calories damn this is starting to suck. Wall ball, 15 reps. SDHP, 13 reps, ohhh man. Box Jumps, 16 reps. Push press only 15 reps. Someone please kill me. I was hurting bad. I went wayy to hard on the first round. There was no time to recover. At this point it was all about metering my efforts and trying to fight through the pain.

This time I wobbled over to the rowing machine for the 3rd round. Luke was still on it from the previous round. He was dying too and taking what seemed like forever to get off of it. I just wanted to sit down. Luke, c’mon man get up, paaleeese. I was dying inside.

Shit 10 more seconds. 3,2,1…go Row, row, row. I was grunting and moaning and doing anything to move that damn rower. At one point I said this fucking thing isnt recording calories. It took me 2.5 strokes to get 1 calorie up on the screen. I struggled at the end. I just wanted to get to 20. In the end I had to settle for 18 calories. Wall ball, goddamn. I was hurting so bad. I barely mustered 16 reps. SDHP, fuck you barbell!!!…a measly 9 reps. Box jumps. This is where I usually rest during this workout, just 12 reps. Push press, 15 reps. I’m done. I collapsed on the floor for a couple minutes. It took me a while to recover from this one. Usually I handle the metcons well. Today I got my ass whupped!!! I scored a 256. Are you fuckin kidding me? I nearly died today and I almost gave up my life for a decrease of 30 points from my previous score. That sucks. I was upset with myself. I bitched and complained for a good 10 minutes. That was a Fight Gone Horribly Bad.

Still, I had lots of fun. I’ll be back. Until then, I’ll leave you with this…

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

