Shoulders

Apr 7th

Todays CF workout
Shoulder press 1-1-1-1-1 reps
Push press 3-3-3-3-3 reps
Push Jerk 5-5-5-5-5 reps

Usually I skip these types of workouts when they come up. I’d often rather do some bike work. This time I did the workout because my legs would love a day off. This was the first time doing these exercises at max weight. I’m happy to say that I completed the workout. I learned a lot about myself. Now I have an idea of my abilities in the shoulder strength department. My loads were as follows:
Shoulder Press – 1 rep – 115, 135, 145, 150 (fail), 155 lbs
Push Press – 3 reps – 145, 145, 140, 155, 160 lbs
Push Jerk – 5 reps – 135, 145, 145, 165, 175 (4 reps), 185 (1 rep)

The shoulder press was tough. My long range of motion is a limiter. I could have gone heavier on the Push Press and Push Jerk. I got more confident as I continued. I was getting much better and engaging a powerful hip extension to get the weight up. I even opted for an extra set of the Push Jerks with an attempt at 185.

On another note check out this great clip of a documentary on the 1972 Olympics. For you sprinters out there, check out the guy doing plyo hops through the gym and up the stairs. Pretty fuckin sick…

1 Comment

  1. […] last time I did this workout was in April. It was good to see how I progressed. Today my reps […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

