Kelly

May 31st

Don’t Hate Me ‘Cuz I’m Beautiful

Kelly

Five rounds for time of:
Run 400 meters
30 Box jump, 24 inch box
30 Wall ball shots, 20 pound ball

What a beast of a workout. This Kelly is ugly, really ugly. I was contemplating whether or not I should make today a pure training day on the bike. I initially planned on racing this morning. I opted out of the that because this week really drained me and I needed the extra sleep. Getting up at 5am for a race would have drained me even more. Once I saw this workout listed on the website, I knew exactly what I would be doing today. This workout would be like a hard crit on course with a power climb in it. I would ride for about 45 mins on the way to and from the Box for the workout. The rides would simulate the easier parts of a race and the workout would simulate the hard part of a race. The workout was perfect. 400m runs would be like riding tempo. Good pacing was necessary. This helps to reinforce the principle of recovering while working. It hurts but feels good compared to the rest of the race course. The 30 box jumps would be like a long sprint or a hard attack to bridge to a breakaway. Plyos are the magic ingredient for a good sprint. The proof is in the pudding my sprint went from 1490 to 1736 watts since starting CF. 30 wall ball shots, yuck. This would simulate the power climb on the course. Low cadence, seated and standing, full body effort to propel the bike over the climb. Mind you this is right after bridging to the break. It hurt like hell, just like a hard race. Once cresting the top of the climb there was a slight descent (the walk/run back outside). Once outside, it was back to the 400m run (riding tempo, recovering while working).

This was a beast. I may have mentioned that already. Either way you need to really understand. This was a beast of a workout. By round 3 I was starting to feel it. Rounds 4 and 5 were really tough. There were times when I just zoned out and focused on the task at hand. I came in from the runs angry at the plyo box. I just wanted to stomp on its face. I wish that I could’ve been more angry at the wall ball shots. Me and Mr Wall Ball Shots fought a bitter battle.

In the end I finished in 29:54. I was guessing that I would finish around 30 mins. I was right under it, happy to be done. It took a good 10mins for me to fully recover. I drank (2) 24 oz bottles of water. I sweat profusely. My quads were cooked. When I got home I was happy that I chose to ride my bike for another 45 mins post workout. It made me feel so much better. Great day!

Video of Wall Ball shots if youre unfamiliar. They look a lot easier than they are.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

