Keith Berger Memorial Crit

June 28th

Back to CT for some racing. Keith Berger is a great crit. It is well run, organized and fun. Everything is run smoothly. They even have cool freebies for racers. There were 5 primes per race.

Cat 3
This was pretty fast. It was a 25 mile race. I made sure to keep myself in the front of the field throughout the race. Never less than 20th position. There were a couple of wheels that I wanted to make sure to hold. These 2 guys are really consistent and place or win many races. Unfortunately when things got wild during the last couple of laps they werent doing well keeping position. I aborted that mission. I lost position myself. On the last lap I attacked up the outside out of turn 2 to get myself to the front. I slotted in at 5th position. As soon as I sat down in my saddle a swarm surged up the inside. I had no chance to contest the sprint. The race was decided by who would get into turn 3 first. Turn 3 and 4 are about 100m apart and the sprint opens up right out of turn 4. I fought through this area but didnt really open up my sprint. There was no use. I didnt want to be the idiot that crashes the field sprinting for 20th place.

Avg Speed 28.1
Norm Power 295
HR 171
Cadence 92rpm

Masters 30+
Wow, now we’re cooking. This race was blazing fast right from the gun. We were single or double file for the first few laps of the race. Attacks were flying but the field was content on trying to keep things together. Finally a breakaway stuck and I was sure that it was gonna be successful. I turned myself inside out trying to get across to the break. I attacked to try and bridge. I looked back and no one was with me. Oh well, I guess I’ll have to try to do this on my own. Damn. The field eventually caught me but I wasnt going to give up. I spent nearly 3/4s of a lap trying to get across. Man that hurt but still no dice. I slotted back into the field at about 10th wheel. I yelled to my teammate that we have to get across to that move. We eventually got closer to the breakaway but murdered ourselves in the process. Eventually a team shot 3 of their guys across to the break group. Those guys caught the break and shattered it. Word was they averaged over 30mph once they hit the breakaway. They had a half a lap on the field almost instantly. I cant imagine the thoughts in the breakaway groups mind. You turn around and see the guys that you were riding with are gone and they’ve been replaced by 3 guys with the same kits on! Damn. During this madness, I found myself falling slowly backwards through the field. I got gapped off the back and struggled to hang on. I kept riding. Eventually 2 other dropped riders caught up to me. I yelled to them,”lets do this”. We got together and began to work. As soon as we passed the finish line we got pulled by the race ref. Game over. The break was flying and would have lapped us pretty soon. Wow, now that was one fast race.

Avg Speed 29.5mph
Norm Power 292 watts
HR 171bpm
Cadence 93rpm

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

