Recap

Havent written in a while. Hmmm. I feel like I’ve said that before. In fact, I’ve said it recently. So I decided that I would try to rebuild for the Mengoni Grand Prix in a couple of weeks.

In preparation, last week I went to Crossfit on July 30th. I did the following workout:

With a continuously running clock do one 135 pound Clean and Jerk the first minute, two 135 pound Clean and Jerks the second minute, three 135 pound Clean and Jerks the third minute… continuing as long as you are able. Use as many sets each minute as needed.

This was tough. It was my first time doing such a workout. It is pure anaerobic suffering. I lasted 9 mins. Afterwards I was gasping for air. During the workout I was so focused on completing the movements that I did not realize how asphixiated I was.

On Saturday August 1st, I went out for a team ride. I felt really good. We had our usual sprint at the state line. I hit a new 30sec wattage PR, 1019watts. I tt’d the way back solo thinking that I was going to catch up with teammates that were ahead of me. Unbeknownst to me they were behind me after stopping to check on another teammate. I missed everyone on the ride home but I was still fortunate to have a great ride. 2:32 at 271 norm watts

Sunday Aug 2nd, I did the club race in Central Park. It was fun. Lots of attacking and moves being made. A break went up the road early in the race. On the 2nd to last lap, we were close to catching them. Some assclown crashed out a bunch of guys on Harlem Hill. I got caught behind it and wasnt able to catch back up to the front group. The ironic thing about this is that the assclown’s teammate won the race. I was very happy with myself. This was the best club race that I’ve had this year. I didnt place though I kept good position and rode more intelligently than I have all season. 1:30 at 283 norm watts

After spending another week of cross country travel I was able to get to Crossfit for a workout on Friday. I did the Row, Burpee, Run workout. It consists of:

Three rounds for time of:
Row 500 meters
21 Burpees
Run 400 meters

The last time I did this workout, I killed it. Today it killed me. I finished in 15:34. I think this was like 3 mins slower than last time. Dude, I almost fuckin died. I was hurting baaaad. After finishing I fell to the floor and was writhing in pain. My body was hurting everywhere. My eyes were closed because it hurt to look at things. I blame it on my travels. I was really spent when I returned from Denver. So much so that I left work early the day after returning. I rarely have a physical problem that requires me to deviate from my regular daily schedule.

Saturday August 8th, I went out for a short ride. I just wanted to warm things up for my next day’s race. 1:40 at 260 norm watts.

Sunday August 9th, Governor’s Island race. This was fun. Govenors Island is an underutilized parcel of land off the southern coast of Manhattan. I finished in 6th place today. I was happy with that considering how little I’ve been training. I logged less than 5 hours on the bike in the month of July. I’ve done just under 6 hours so far this month. CF must be a great tool for maintaining and building my bike fitness. Under normal circumstances I would definitely not expect to have increased my power output and be in the position to place in a race if I was not training on my bike. 1 hour at 301 norm power.

The sprint was tough. I never really had a peak power output. The graph doesnt look like my typical sprint graphs. There many efforts necessary to get into position to sprint. I included a graph of the last 2 mins of the race. I added a gridline at 700 watts. Its interesting to see how many times I exceeded 700 watts in those 2 minutes. I exceeded 700watts 11 times before even sprinting.

governors

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

