Week Recap

August 18th

Push Press 7 sets, 1 rep
I finished 135-145-175-185-205-225f-215f. Lesson learned, jump into higher weight earlier. The sets at 135 and 145 should not have been done. I could have definitely gotten the 215. I was rushing instead of focusing. Today was my first day teaching a Crossfit Beginner’s Class. I wanted to make sure that I finished my workout in time. Well class was great. We had a big crew today. 10 people showed up.

August 17th

Double-under for 2 minutes
Sit-up for 2 minutes
Double-under for 90 seconds
Sit-up for 90 seconds
Double-under for 1-minute
Sit-up for 1-minute
Double-under for 30 seconds
Sit-up for 30 seconds

My score:
120 DU’s
253 SU’s
373 Total

I need help at Double Unders. I got better at them as the rounds progressed. Higher jumping allowed me to be smoother without fatiguing my arms so much. Situps were good. I think that I did a good job of those. So essentially these scores are per 5 mins of work or 300 secs per movement. I averaged a Double Under every 2.5 secs. I averaged a situp every 1.19 secs. I feel it already. My abs are gonna be cooked tomorrow.

For a cash out we did a pullup/pushup ladder. 1 pullup and 1 pushup for the first minute, 2 pullups and 2 pushups for the second minute, 3 pullups and 3 pushups for the third minute, etc. I died at 9 completed rounds plus 10 pullups and 7 pushups. That whooped my hands.

August 15th

Club Race. 7 laps. I felt good. Kept good position. I was concerned about how I would ride since my Tuesday workout was still with me. My hips were very tight and still sore. My quads were still feeling it. At the end I was in excellent position for the sprint. My teammate Brian lead out the sprint by himself for damn near a mile. He’s awesome. I was sitting 3rd wheel. I jumped a couple of different wheels once he pulled off. Starting the sprint I was on the wheel of the sprinter who won the field sprint. I was so sure that I was going to smoke it. Then my fucking left hamspring completely seized up. Bad, bad cramp. I fell backwards and was passed by like 6 guys. After the sprint I pulled over and began my whimpering routine from a Prospect Park race earlier this season. On that day it was also oppressively humid. My teammate Aaron was next to me after that race and thought that I was gonna cry. Words cant explain how painful those cramps were that day. This time they werent as bad but they were definitely bad.

1:33:46 at 309 norm power
avg cadence 90rpm
avg heartrate 162 watts

August 12th and 13th

I pussy footed through Central Park on a recovery ride. Nice and light with a large social component. Just chatting with other riders and keeping it light. 30 mins max. My quads really needed it.

August 11th

THE BEAST!

As many reps as possible in 20 minutes:

Men take a 95# barbell and women take a 65# barbell and do the following:
Deadlift
Hang Power Clean
Front Squat
Push Press
Lower behind the head widen your grip
Snatch Grip Push Press
Overhead Squat
Lower behind the head
Back Squat
Behind the Neck Push Press
Rack and
Reverse Deadlift to the floor.

That’s ONE rep.

Post number of reps completed to comments.

This workout was aptly named. The Beast, shit man…yes it was. I scaled my workout down to 75#. I wanted to get in a tough bike workout the next day so I wanted to keep it light. Oh well. This workout still trashed me. I was able to complete 35 rounds in the 20 mins. My quads were cooked. I felt like they ripped during the workout. My shoulders were trashed too. Once I was done I knew that there wouldnt be any hard bike workout happening tomorrow.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

