Mengoni

Aug 22nd

Mengoni Grand Prix

The roads were wet from bad thunderstorms throughout the night. This race was set to be nasty, dirty and dangerous with lots of flats and mechanicals sprinkled in for good measure. The first lap was pretty civil, just a couple of light accelerations here and there. A couple of guys tried to get off the front. All in all everyone seemed to want to get in a decent lap to see how the race course was. Plus everyone was too fresh and ambitious to let the race go up the road in a breakaway on the first lap.

The 2nd lap brought some more action. Still nothing that looked threatening. I sat back and just kept watch on who was doing what. By the end of this lap the rain started again. I didnt have glasses on. I couldnt wear them. They were so fogged up. My eyes were getting pelted by the driving rain and overspray from other riders wheels of dirt and horseshit.

Lap 3 a group went up the road with guys that I knew should not be given a chance to get away. I was not content with allowing the race to go up the road with such a strong group of riders in it. I attacked to bridge across to the group. I made it close but I was not going to give a free trip to the 3 guys that were on my wheel. I flicked my elbow to get the guy behind me to do some work. He wouldnt do shit, so I sat up. Fine if youre not going to work I aint dragging your ass up there. Eventually someone else picked up the slack but by then the field was back together.

Lap 4 the rain was definitely coming down. I kept hearing this voice in my head,”when its raining, attack!” Though I was waiting for the right move at the right time. Riders take extra caution on the downhill by the pool in CP. I knew that this would be a good place to get a gap. I moved to 5th wheel and jammed it into the downhill while the field was on their brakes. Once we hit the bottom of Harlem Hill the field was single file. Luck would have it that we were about to pass the womens field. This would disrupt the group. I railed it up Harlem Hill. A small group of us crested the top and then railed it over the following roller. On this roller I yelled to the group that the field was split. Lets get it together and breakaway from the pack. Only 3 or 4 of us did any fuckin work. I was so pissed. We would have shelled nearly every sprinter in the race. Most of them were sitting in the back of the pack. There was only myself and one other sprinter in this group. Everyone was too busy looking back. Fuck looking back, look forward and GO. Damn just thinking about it irritates me. Those efforts cost me 441 watts for 5 mins. Son of a bitch. Too many matches with nothing good to show for it. Back to the field to recover.

Two laps to go. I was all about sitting in the field and trying to reserve anything that I had left for the sprint. I kept safe for the sprint. Unfortunately 2 guys jumped off the front late in the race. One of them made it and won. The rest of us sprinted. I finished in 9th place. Not so great but good considering that I didnt just sit in and wait for the sprint I was happy with it. Compared to the other fields today, we were pretty safe. We only lost a handful of guys. There was some major carnage in the other fields. Most of that took place during the last lap. There were definitely some fireworks during that lap. Also a crash during the sprint too.

1 hr 24 mins
320 watts norm power
158 bpm
90 rpm

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

