I’m a Spartan

300

October 6th

I made today a Crossfit day. My knee feels strong again so I was ready to go and “get some”. Todays workout was the 300 workout.

Complete the following:
Pullups – 25 reps
Deadlifts with 135 lbs – 50 reps
Pushups – 50 reps
24-inch Box jumps – 50 reps
Floor wipers – 50 reps
Single-arm Clean-and-Press with 36-lbs Kettlebell – 50 reps
Pullups – 25 reps

Torch said that to make the cut and be a Spartan you were required to finish within 18 minutes. I told myself that I was definitely going to try to make “the cut”. I flew through the 25 pullups, 50 deadlifts and the 50 pushups. I began to start to feel the pain setting in on the 50 box jumps. I drove myself through the box jumps on mind control. Just making sure to focus on the effort and not the pain. Next up…

Floor Wipers. Shit man! 50 Floor Wipers with 135lbs. Wow. This was my first time doing this movement. Talk about core killer. Stabilizing the 135 lbs overhead along with the torque of the twisting leg lifts to kick the weights was insane. The feeling that I felt while doing these was far greater than any GHD situp, Knees to Elbows routine I’ve ever done. I did the first 10 reps unbroken. Then after that it was sets of 5 reps. I was moaning like a woman in labor. I kept making jokes during this part of the workout. I think that the humor kept me going. The toughest part was holding the barbell up. In between reps I would drop the bar then roll it over myself down to my hips. Then hip pop it up in order to press above. I was so hurt that I was struggling to bench press the weight up. I kept thinking, shit each of these presses is eating into my strength for the 50 kettlebell clean and presses that I had to do next. The KB C&Ps were tough but not so bad after those damn Floor Wipers. At this point completing the reps was more about mind control than anything. I finished those then jumped on the bar for my last 25 pullups. When I walked to the pullup bar I yelled,”I wanna be a Spartan.” I did 5-5-10-3-2 reps. DONE. 16:20!!!! I’m a SPARTAN. Man that workout sucked. I was delirious for a good 20 mins after I finished. My brain was just not right.

That night I woke up in the middle of the night at one point. I couldnt help but notice how weird it felt to just take a deep breath. My torso was fried. My core muscles were destroyed. I was crazy sore for the next couple of days.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

